Theknittingmoon’s handmade Christmas

I’m probably the same as a lot of people out there in that I don’t have as much time as I’d like to make everything I want to. In fact I find it difficult to squeeze an hour or two a week of knitting or other crafts into my crazy schedule. And making things for Christmas is so much harder still, especially as The Wee Man’s birthday is on the 22nd of December. But I did manage to make a few things myself this year, although I was at it right up until the stroke of midnight on Christmas Eve (no lie – that is precisely when I finished my last hand-made gift!)

Anyway, as it was such a whirlwind of activity I did also forget to take photos of a few of the things I made but I can show you the source where I haven’t got a photo – so here they go…

First up was The Wee Man’s birthday cake – he wanted a Thomas cake this year again (I made my first one last year – you can see it here). There were a few additional requests this year though – he wanted it to have a mountain/tunnel and he wanted trucks with freight. He also asked for a blue dinosaur with pink spots coming out of the tunnel but I assumed that was a joke…and he didn’t ask where it was when he saw the cake! (phew) The end result…

IMG_1559 IMG_1560

So, after the birthday mayhem was over (we tend to have his party a week early or no-one would come…) I could start on the Christmas crafts.

The first thing I wanted to make was a travel journal for a very good friend who was flying off to Thailand on Christmas day. I have made a similar one before, but I changed the picture on the front for this one –

Dot journal

Then The Wee Man and I tried our hands at some Christmas decorations with air-drying clay. We made these two Christmas trees –

IMG_1698

Can you tell which one is mine and which one is his? No, me either.

We also made this wee train for the tree –

IMG_1604

Then I broke out the pinny again and did some Christmas cooking…I made some sweet chilli jam for family members and work colleagues using this recipe. And I made some peppermint candy canes with leftover cake icing (always the frugal Scot!) for The Wee Man’s nursery staff using this recipe. Both turned out really well I think, although I still haven’t heard whether the sweet chilli jam jars made it intact to Scotland!

The last things to do were a couple of presents for The Big Man. He had requested a hand-knitted ‘cheesy’ hat with ear flaps so I decided on this pattern as appropriately cheesy. (This was the project that took me until midnight on the nose by the way.) I did end up leaving off the earflaps as I put them on wonky so had to remove them and by this time it was 11pm Christmas Eve…Here is a photo of him wearing the end result.

IMG_1651

I’m sorry there’s no close-up and I’m not sure he’ll wear it again as he said he kept getting amused looks from people…if anyone out there has as enormous a noggin as The Big Man’s they may be able to make use of it!

I also wanted to give The Big Man a Christmas jumper and after seeing the beautiful Patrick on the Christmas edition of The Great British Sewing Bee sewing a felt stag onto a pre-bought jumper I thought I’d save time and do the same thing. Here is my attempt at a reindeer…

IMG_1629

And here is The Big Man actually wearing it on Christmas day!

IMG_1641

And…that’s all folks! Now I look back at it, I actually managed to make quite a lot. No wonder I’m exhausted.

Now all I have to do is design my own cheesy earflap Big Man hat that he might actually wear…

Happy New Year everyone!

2 thoughts on “Theknittingmoon’s handmade Christmas

Leave a Reply

