Térag

Hi there, sorry I’ve been neglecting you guys…all in the cause of knitting…etc.

I have a friend at work who asked me to knit her a pair of my Dream Weaving mitts a little while ago. I usually laugh off these requests because if I didn’t I’d never get another pattern out or much else done. But – this person has been so generous to me and the wee man with gifts galore so I decided to repay her kindness and knit the damn things.

Unfortunately I couldn’t get the pattern to work for her super skinny miniscule wrists – the weaving was too tight or the tension was wrong and when the cast off edge flared out like a giant ruffle because of the difference in tension between the woven part and the cast off part – I’d had enough.

So, I decided to start again and design a whole new pattern for her. Which is a better gift anyway really – if someone did that for me I’d be ecstatic!

I used the same yarn in the same two colours but changed the pattern to a two colour stocking stitch body and garter stitch cuff at the top with a thumb hole in between. I was really pleased with how they turned out – and so was the recipient. They are called Térag which is Scottish Gaelic for Teresa – my friend’s name.

Térag 1 Térag 2 Térag 3

I have posted the pattern for free in my Ravelry store if you fancy trying it – go on! it’s easy peasy!

I hope you all have a warm and woolly Christmas.

tkm x

2 thoughts on “Térag

Leave a Reply

