Making for Mum

Mother’s day again?! It’s a funny one when you have a Mum and a Wee Man as well. I get to do something special for my lovely Mum and the Wee Man (with a lot of help from the Big Man usually…he’s only 5) gets to spoil me a tiny bit. Hooray!

I wanted to make my Mum something this year but it had to be something easy and quick as I left it a bit late. So I poked around my Pinterest sewing board and decided on this nice wee pattern from a sewing blog I follow. (Thanks Jess). I had some great fabric in my stash that I’ve had for years – it was just waiting to be made into something like this. I even had some matching lining fabric. I only had to buy a zip and off I went.

Had a tiny bit of trouble putting the second side together…got the outer and lining fabric mixed up and sewed them on back to front. Oops. But a bit of unpicking and re-sewing later it was all good. The only bit I’m not completely happy with is how I’ve twisted one side of the zip end but it doesn’t look too bad and doesn’t affect the zip closing so I’m going with it! I added a little felt ball to the zip for decoration. IMG_2716 IMG_2721

It will be winging it’s way northwards in the next couple of days. Let’s hope Mum likes it!

Happy early Mother’s day to all you Mums out there!

Leave a Reply

