End of the shawl aversion?

There has always been something that’s puzzled me about knitters/Ravelry…the insane predilection they seem to have for knitting shawls.

 

I have never worn a shawl. I don’t know many people who do. I thought they were frumpy and about as useful as a chocolate teapot to be honest.

 

But in recent months I’ve found myself admiring certain shawls more and more…even adding them to my favourites (shock!). Here are some of my recent picks…

Drachenfels by Melanie Berg on Ravelry – I love the colours and stripes – I can even forgive it for being a triangle!

 

IMG_7773-001_small2

 

Claire’s Shawl Wrap by Handsty on Etsy – This looks sooooo cosy and fabulous.

 

b8d8dbc36aafce1f21a4c6f6fc44f5af

 

And Textured Laguna Wrap by Chandi Agee on Ravelry – this is such a beautiful colour and texture.

 

textured-laguna-wrap-knitted-pattern_1957_copy_small2

 

I’ve also realised that a shawl is a fine thing to sit and wrap yourself in when it’s not wintery anymore but there’s still a wee nip in the air.

 

I’m still not convinced by the floaty, lacy, triangular/crescent/scalloped edge things that a lot of ravellers seem to lap up…but I am officially coming out as a shawl fan.

 

Confession: I have actually knit a shawl/wrap type thing and am sitting cosily wrapped in it as I type…more of that another day!

 

4 thoughts on “End of the shawl aversion?

  1. I’m not big on shawls either. I knit the Farmhouse shawl last year, and I love it. I am warming up to the idea to some of the big, blanket type shawls.

  2. I love knitting, wearing and giving away shawls and wraps. There is something so soothing in the knitting and comforting in wearing one when under the weather or on a cold day. I love the designs by Kate Davies and knitted two shawls from her patterns https://katedaviesdesigns.com I hope you will knit one and show and tell! Happy knitting, Johanna

Leave a Reply

